University of Tampere is organising the Doctoral Conferment Ceremony of all the Faculties of the University of Tampere on 16 – 18 August 2018.


A tradition stretching back several centuries, the ceremonial conferment of doctoral degrees is the highest and most prestigious academic celebration. “Promootio”, the Finnish word for conferment, comes from the Latin verb “promovere”, which means promotion, advancement and elevation.  The purpose of the conferment ceremony is to highlight the value of and respect for research and education. It is also an important milestone in an academic’s career.

The conferment celebrations include a number of events arranged over three days. The first event is the sword-whetting ceremony in the evening of the first day. The festivities continue the following day with the conferment ceremony. Doctors and doctors honoris causae are conferred their doctoral degrees and they receive the academic symbols of the hat and the sword. The conferment ceremony is followed by the academic procession from the University to Tampere Cathedral for a service. The festivities continue in the evening with the conferment banquet and ball. A cruise is organised on the third day.

In 2018, the ceremonial conferment of doctoral degrees is a joint event for doctors and doctors honoris causae from all six faculties of the University of Tampere. The conferment ceremony will be the last one organised by the University of Tampere in its present form. Due to a merger, the name of the University will change to Tampere University on 1 January 2019.


The honorary doctors of the University of Tampere in 2018