The field of science and technology studies (STS) has become increasingly prominent in the Nordic countries. The purpose of the biennial Nordic STS conference is to promote exchange of ideas and collaboration among STS scholars by providing a regional forum for presenting on-going research, networking, and initiating new ideas and conversations. The Nordic STS conference has been organised since 2013, when the Centre for Technology, Innovation and Culture/TIK at University of Oslo took the initiative of organising the first conference.

The 4th Nordic STS conference will be held at Tampere University, Finland, on 13–14 June 2019. A pre-conference workshop for junior researchers will take place on 12 June 2019. At the fourth Nordic STS conference the keynote speakers are: Harro van Lente (Maastricht University), Mianna Meskus (Tampere University) and Maria Nedeva (University of Manchester). The conference is organised in collaboration with The Finnish Society for Science and Technology Studies and the Research Center for Knowledge, Science, Technology and Innovation Studies, Tampere University.



The authors of accepted abstracts will be informed no later than 1 March 2019.

The abstracts of proposed presentations (max 300 words) can be submitted either to thematic sessions or as a general submission without an identified session. In the latter case, conference organisers will form new thematic sessions and assign accepted abstracts accordingly. The abstract should include the names, institutional affiliations, and email addresses of the presenters. Click on the titles below to find more information about the thematic sessions.


The time for presentations: 15 min for presentation + 5 min for joint discussion, unless the coordinator of the group has instructed you to do it some other way.


Thematic sessions include:

  • Challenges of Sustainable Knowledge Production in Inter- and Transdisciplinary Research
  • Creating Academic Knowledge in the Age of Research Impact
  • Revisiting Science-Society Relations in the Post-Truth Era
  • Gender and Intersectionality in Research and Innovation
  • The Rise of Literature, Culture, and Science
  • Changing Modes of Visualization
  • Infrastructuring Migration: Doing STS within/about Mobility
  • Meeting Food and ‘Fooding’
  • STS in Food Studies and Food and Food System Design
  • Care in STS – Objects, Transformations and Politics
  • Responsible Research and Innovation in Science and Technology
  • Governance and Knowledge of Human-Microbe Relations
  • More-Than-Human Technologies at Homes, Farms and in Laboratories
  • The Economization of Nature
  • STS – Design – Sustainability
  • Catalysts for Sustainability Transitions
  • Mainstreaming of Sustainable Innovations
  • How Do Technologies Die?
  • Reconfigurations of Infrastructure in the Algorithmic Age
  • Sound, Body, and Technology
  • Becoming of the Data-driven Society
  • Data, Governance, Welfare: Nordic Perspectives
  • Struggling with Ignorance and Uncertainty in the AI-driven Society
  • STS and Social Media


Organising committee:
Reetta Muhonen, Tampere University (Chair)
Otto Auranen, Academy of Finland
Ismo Kantola, University of Turku
Elina I. Mäkinen, Tampere University
Minna Saariketo, Aalto University


Scientific committee:
Kristin Asdal, University of Oslo
C-F Helgesson, Linköping University/Uppsala University
Sampsa Hyysalo, Aalto University
Christopher Gad, IT-University of Copenhagen